DOES MY HOLE-IN-ONE COUNT?
H1 Club resident hack Pete Richardson has had a hole-in-one, but is now worried it might not count?
I have a bit of a worry about my hole-in-one.
It is one of my proudest golfing moments - alongside winning a quaich at a club competition at Dougalston in Glasgow, but I’m worried not it may not “count”.
The Rules of Golf don’t talk about the validity of a hole-in-one but I have just discovered that the USGA recommends that a hole in one be considered valid:
If made during a round of at least nine holes – CHECK
If the player is playing one ball; a hole in one made in a practice round in which the player is playing two or more balls should not be acceptable - CHECK
If made at a hole with a temporary tee and/or putting green in use, even if the Committee did not specifically define the teeing ground with tee-markers; the length of the hole at the time should be stated on any certificate – NO IT WAS A FULL COUSE SO - CHECK
If attested by an acceptable witness – AHHHHH….
He comes my problem. I was playing a practice round …on my own. Just one ball, and playing as a full round, but on my own non-the-less.
I know I hit the 7-iron tee shot on the 7th at Legend Golf & Safari Resort’s Signature Course into the hole. But no-one was there to see it…..no-one on the 8th tee and nobody behind me.
Is that enough?
Well not according to the USGA.
And it seems not according to Golf Monthly in the UK – but is this a rule or a tradition?
But I’m with Tom Gorman, co-owner of the Pompey Club in the USA and a master rules official who has served at the Ryder Cup and PGA Championship.
He says it is valid and explained the central reason why.
He said: “The game of golf is built around integrity.”
Gorman noted that there is “nothing in the rules book” that disqualifies an unwitnessed one-shotter and explained that it falls under the same category of posting a score that you make while playing alone to help establish your handicap.
So, there is no rule against my hole-in-one and I know I did it – but is that enough.
I know I don’t qualify for a fabulous specially commissioned Hugo Boss Watch, which has special criteria, but I know that I have a hole-in-one.
But what do you think?
Is it valid? I bought everyone in the clubhouse a drink if that counts!!!